Coconut Pie

IMG_2705

I had leftover short crust pastry that I’d used for the day before for another pie and I’ve also had a desire for something coconuty for a while, so I decided to combine these two together in a shape of Coconut pie. The result was very rewarding because not only I satisfied my cravings for the coconut, but this pie has also a very custardy flavour. So, if you are fan of custard and coconut, look no further then this recipe.

COCONUT PIE

Ingredients:

For the pastry:

225 g plain flour

100 g butter

80 g sugar

1 egg

Crumb together by hand the butter into the flour, add sugar, mix in the egg and few tablespoons of cold water or milk to form a soft dough.

For the pie filling:

50 g butter, melted

2 eggs

1 tablespoon plain flour

150 g sugar

200 g desiccated coconut (slightly toast in an oven before till it lightly golden)

225 ml milk

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 170C. In a large bowl, combine melted butter, eggs, flour, sugar, coconut and milk.

2. Pour mixture into prepared unbaked pie shell, carefully place it in an oven and bake for about 45-60 minutes or till it sets and spongy when you press it with your finger.

IMG_2704

IMG_2706