Celery and Cashew Nut Soup

Many years ago, I had the privilege to share a house with the most wonderful lady – Vicky, whom I’m honoured to call my friend. She is an incredible baker/cook, that can make a proper feast form a few leftovers. Her quiches, pies and lamb roasts are the stuff of legends, but for me there is another thing which I am very fond of. It is a celery and cashew nut soup! The first time I tried this soup of hers I was completely smitten. I never thought of cooking with celery and to be honest, 15 years ago, I maybe wasn’t very familiar of it either! For me, it wasn’t on my shopping list back then and the same goes for cashew nuts. They were more of a rare treat. However the combination of the two is a surprise match made in heaven, and is both creamy and wonderful.

Vicky would normally cook it based on a vegetarian stock if I remember it right, but I had a really nice chicken stock I made earlier, so I used it.

Mark also hadn’t heard of this soup before either, but now he’s a big fan! 🙂

Thank you, Vicky!

Celery and Cashew nuts Soup

CELERY AND CASHEW NUTS SOUP

Ingredients:

1 onion, peeled and chopped

2 medium sized potatoes, peeled and chopped

300g celery, washed and chopped

2 tablespoons butter

50g cashew nuts

1 1/4 pints chicken (or vegetable) stock

3/4 pint milk

salt & pepper

Method:

  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan.
  2. Saute the prepared vegetables gently until the onion is transparent.
  3. Add the cashews and continue cooking for 5 minutes, stirring frequently.
  4. Add the stock, bring to the boil, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Add the milk and allow to cool slightly.
  6. Tip the soup mix into a blender and purée until smooth.
  7. Season with the salt and pepper and serve.
2 thoughts on “Celery and Cashew Nut Soup

Leave a Reply

