Banana Donuts

It’s a long overdue post. I had a busy last few weeks, occupied mainly with work, freelancing and a few social activities. Mark cooked and baked most of the days and although my mind was busy with work, my hands were itching to make some sort of contribution (or maybe part of me was just scared that Mark will take over completely and one day access to the kitchen will be denied for me :)) Anyway, I had to do something  and THIS SOMETHING had to be quick but delicious.

One of the desert was so appropriate for the occasion (quick & easy) and went down very
 well (it was DELICIOUS). I saw this recipe  a while ago on fellow-blogger’s website. I always favour the recipes based on the simple ingredients, involving an easy technique but as a result you get something you never came across before. It was exactly the case and I made a note to myself to make Jemput Jemput Pisang one day. So I did and they were good! 🙂  And  the great thing about these banana donuts is that the wet ingredient was 100% made up with mashed bananas! No any other liquid or even an egg.

IMG_4848

BANANA DONUTS

(Recipe by Farianti came from here)

Ingredients:

3 ripe bananas (medium sized), peeled
1 cup of self raising flour
sunflower oil for frying

Method:

1. In a bowl mash the bananas with fork.

2. Add the flour and combine thoroughly. You can add some sugar at this point if you wish but the sweetness of the over-ripen bananas can be sweet enough.

3. Heat some oil in a saucepan. When it’s really hot, turn down the heat and with a spoon, drop the batter into the oil. (It takes seconds to turn golden brown so make sure you flip them over every so often and don’t put too many into the pan at the same time.)

4. Once golden brown on both sides, place on kitchen paper towels.

Farianti recommends also dust them with the icing powder (which I would definitely do!), but I didn’t have any at the time and I was too hungry to grind the sugar myself, so we left out…had a healthy version instead :))

 

6 thoughts on “Banana Donuts

    • Thank you, Veronica! 🙂
      That’s exactly what we did, we’ve ate all 14 of them (between two of us) in one go.. just couldn’t stop! 🙂

Leave a Reply

